Another altered playing card

I wasn’t entirely satisfied with my first attempt to create an altered playing card (here), so I gave it a second try.

I created the background using alchol inks. For the pumpkin (Inkadinkado) and the cobweb (Tim Holtz)  I used an embossing resist technique. I stamped the pumpkin and the cobweb with Versamark and heat embossed them with clear embossing powder. I sponged around them with black stazon ink.  I put the card between two sheets of paper and ironed it, to remove the clear embossing powder. I stamped the cobweb again with black Stazon just 1 mm next to the resist image, so as to create an image with more depth. I stamped the number 1 next to the printed 3 and stamped the word October (Oxford Impressions) with black Stazon. I really don’t like stamping with stazon, for it almost seems impossible to obtain a crisp stamped image… I finished off the card with melted drops of wax crayon.

This altered playing card is my second entry for the current challenge @ “cARTe à jouer“, but I’d also like to submit it to Macabre Monday’s “Freaker’s free for all” and Gingersnap Creations “Versamark”.

13 comments on “Another altered playing card

  1. OOOh, this is gorgeous! amazing all of the different techniques you used. Especially fond of the melted crayon. LOL thanks for joining us for MM at HDH! xxD

  2. This is gorgeous, and so much work has gone into it. Your spiderweb looks particularly effective, but I fear it would be too much work for me (especially since it involves an iron :P)
    Thanks so much for playing along with our Freaker’s Free For All challenge at HDH, and good luck!

  3. I am really inspired by your ATCs, and I just wish I had more time and less commitments to play randomly. I really like the melted crayon effect. Very clever. I still want to try that soot technique I saw a while back as well. TFS!
    Thanks for playing along with us this week at HDH.

  4. SmilynStef says:

    So much visual interest in such a tiny design … love every detail … thanks for celebrating Goth-tober with us at Gingersnap Creations.

  5. Ali Manning says:

    Wow – this is stunning! Thanks for playing the Gingersnaps challenge!

  6. P'tite Plume says:

    Stunning and very beautiful!

  7. ISA says:

    Oh woua ! Elle fait ma préférence ! 🙂 Beaucoup plus travaillée que la première, chapeau ! Vraiment très belle, très technique. Love love love ! 🙂 Thaaaaank you very much 🙂 I hope to see you for the next.. friday !

  8. MD says:

    Bravoooooooooo superbe
    MD

  9. oh my goshhh !! that is a stunning piece of art !
    when i saw it, had to come around and see what you do bcos it’s fantastic and how clever to use that card and to add the 1 for (31), brilliant work !! 🙂

  10. amelure says:

    very, very nice!!!

  11. caramelle says:

    it’s wonderful 🙂 bravo i love your card very much
    cara
    🙂

  12. Paula says:

    I love all the techniques you have used to such great effect here. Well done!
    Paula

Leave a comment