What’s On Your Workdesk? Wednesday

Welcome to my workdesk. It’s terribly late, but I wanted to have something to show. The past few weeks, I’ve always succeeded in tidying up my workspace when I’m done crafting, so I thought it would be rather boring to show you a clean and empty desk again. I hope you don’t mind the blatant publicity for butter, though. By the way, the hostess of this fun weekly workdesk blog hop asked me whether those drawers are made of wood. I’m afraid, they aren’t, …they are mere cardstock, but very useful indeed. The stamps on my desk are secondhand clear stamps I recently bought from one of the participants of WOYWW. I’d never heard of that brand of stamps before. Meanwhile I placed an order with the company, for they have beautiful stamps with fairies and castles, which make me dream of springtime…

Today, I experimented with something new again. For the first time in my life, I created an altered playing card for this challenge.

It was really a trial-and-error experience. I first coloured the card using alcohol inks. Afterwards, I wanted to try the “stamping in soot” technique. Well, that obviously only works on glossy paper… The soot did contribute to a creepy background, however,  so I decided to continue and make the best of it. The blotted area in the bottom left corner is supposed to be a pumpkin which I heat embossed in gold, black and copper embossing powder, but I must admit I’m not too thrilled with it. I do like the (bloody) finishing touch with the melted wax crayons, though. In short, it was a first and it was fun to do. All things are difficult before they are easy!

EDIT: My new Lavinia stamps arrived too!

15 comments on “What’s On Your Workdesk? Wednesday

  1. nicks says:

    are they Lavina stamps?? Gorgeous!

  2. JoZarty says:

    eeek! that’s really spooky but very clever!
    JoZarty x

  3. ohh I so DO love a bit of freaky!! so I really love this!thanks for shareing!

  4. Kate says:

    I like the way you turned the 3 into 31. Perfect size stamps.

  5. Karen says:

    Great space you have! I do like your drawers too! And your altered playing card is terrific! It is grungy and spooky!
    Happy WOYWW!

  6. Sandra says:

    Your work desk is very neat!! Your ATC is great!! I could never tell it was your first one! Looks very nice!!

  7. ISA says:

    Dear Aisling, a pleasure to discover your art ! 🙂 It’s a long time that i do the WOYWW.. mmm.. like all mousse i love to see art studio 😉 So.. your card.. bloody card from halloween ! Nice idea to use red color for that ! I love too your number 31, very good idea ! I love your card and i will add to the blog gallery for to show to all ! 🙂 Thank you very much, sorry for my bad english but i do and hope to be better one day 😉 Hope to see you for the next cards !! Amitiés, ISA

  8. What an amazing altered playing card! Wow!

    Sheena #134

  9. caroline says:

    those stamps do look fab. like your scary ATC. caroline #16

  10. Elizabeth says:

    Those flower stamps at the front are gorgeous
    – I’ve never heard of Lavinia stamps either so something new. Thanks for sharing. Elizabeht #98

  11. Mad Morti says:

    Oooooooohhhhhh – Lavinia Stamps………. drool………

  12. amelure says:

    your card for Halloween is gorgeous!!!

  13. Kym Upshaw says:

    What a lovely ATC. Looks like you are into Lavinia stamps now. The samples on their stall at the NEC were fab. Thanks for sharing your workspace. Best wishes, Kym xxx (WOYWW No 36)

  14. P'tite Plume says:

    Beautiful work! I love this!

  15. woww…you’re calling this messy desk ?? oh myyy wait to see mine, i can’t even have a decent 12x12LO on it :(…. looove the stamps !! and nice work on your first card ! the drippling wax looks cool !! 🙂

Leave a Reply

