Queen of hearts gothic arch

The former challenge “Oh Alice” has moved to “The Altered Alice” and has been turned into a monthly challenge. To me that’s rather good news, for it means I’ll be able to participate more often! Chapter 1 focuses on transformations and/or dress forms. I finally managed to create a gothic arch that I’ve been wanting to create for months. It’s actually a spinner card (I found this Dutch tutorial very helpful) in the shape of a gothic arch:

Losing one’s head’s quite a drastic form of change/transformation, don’t you think?

The sun was masked and background sponged. The tree (Lavinia) and the cat (Cherry Pie) were coloured using distress inks and an aqua pen.  The queen of hearts (Oxford Impressions) and Alice (a somewhat altered Stampotique stamp) were stamped on black paper, bleached and painted  with Perfect Pearls.

I still have a couple of Inkurable Stampers 2010 gothic arches that I want to finish and so this is my interpretation of the theme “crowns“.

I also would like to enter this interactive arch to:

26 comments on “Queen of hearts gothic arch

  1. Lynne Phelps says:

    FANTASTIC! Thank so much for playing along with The Altered Alice! This is so, so clever. The fun touch of the macabre works perfectly with the quirky Stampotique image. Love love love the arch and the background scene!

  2. forrestwife says:

    well, if you have to change, might as well make it big>
    love the action
    Thanks for sharing with Created Byhand

  3. Suzanne says:

    Wow! That’s awesome!!
    I love it very much – you did such a great job with this one.

    best
    Suzanne

  4. Shar B says:

    Just hysterical and wonderfully creative! Thanks so much for playing the Gingersnap Creations Kings and Queens Challenge!

  5. Julie Mutch says:

    Aisling, I’m snickering here at your card! So funny! 🙂 Thanks so much for joining our ‘Royalty’ challenge over at The Stampsmith Challenge and best of luck in the draw! 🙂

    Hugs,
    Julie

  6. I’m rolling on the floor laughing over here!!! I’ve been watching the TV series The Tudors and this just reminds me of it sooooooooo much!!! What a great (hilarious) take on the royalty theme for The Stampsmith Challenge this week! Thank you so much for sharing your sense of humor with us! Best of luck in the draw!
    Val 🙂

  7. Moniqui says:

    LOL!!!! That is awesome!

  8. jane w. says:

    INCREDIBLY CUTE! lol Love it!

  9. Monique says:

    Prachtig!!! Heel erg inventief en ook wel grappig! Geweldig goed bedacht!

  10. How cool, a fantastic arch.

  11. kaz says:

    This is brilliant!!

  12. Kate says:

    Ha ha ha ha! Very funny! Awesome work 🙂

  13. Kim Howard says:

    OMG, this is too funny!!!

  14. Lol! Love it!!! That is so cool how Alice’s head comes off! Great job!

  15. OMG! What a hoot! Love the action here and how you’re combined the stamps. FABULOUS! xxD

  16. Quietfire says:

    Oh, this is so funny!! Way to go! Thanks for sharing your artwork on the Queen of Hearts Valentine Challenge!

  17. Karen says:

    Fantastic! I love the “live action” decapitation. So clever.

  18. Love your queenly card. Really like how you added the cat in the background. Very cool. Thank you for joining us at the Stampsmith Challenge blog! Have a great day.

  19. Erin L. says:

    I love it! Off with her head and a dress form, just perfect. Thanks for joining us at The Altered Alice.

  20. Wonderful arch. Love your interpretation of the challenge at The Altered Alice. Yes, it’s certainly a form of change or transformation. It made me smile when I saw it.

  21. oh this is brilliant – I love it – OFF with her head – fabulous

  22. trisha too says:

    This is AWESOME!!!

    🙂

  23. Ali says:

    Absolutely adorable!!

    Ali x

  24. Dit is fantastisch, wat orgineel.

  25. jenxo says:

    a very fun card..im behind in my inkurable cards too…

Leave a comment