Some spooky soot ATCs

Soot stamping is such a great technique for creepy ATCs! I used it to create the following ATCs:

Traditional soot technique

 

For the above ATC I used real photo paper instead of glossy crafting paper. Photo paper is actually not suitable for this technique, for it crackles and rapidly gets burnt. But I like the effect in this particular ATC.

Reverse soot technique

I’d like to enter these ATCs to the following challenges:

Stamps used

  • Trees with raven: Stampendous
  • Graveyard and sentiments: Cherry Pie
10 comments on “Some spooky soot ATCs

  1. Awesome ATCs!! I am loving that soot technique but have yet to try it out.
    Thanks for joining us this week at HDH!

  2. Lesley says:

    These are great. I love doing that soot technique. It has been quite some time since I did it. I wonder if you alcohol inked the paper first then did the soot what a wonderful colourful background it would be. Hmmm I just had a lightbulb go off. Never heard of reverse soot. Can you explain that one???? Looks cool.
    Happy weekend, Lesley

  3. aisling says:

    @ Lesley. Yes I think that would work with alcohol inks! Here’s an explanation of reverse soot: Just stamp your images with versamark and then hold the glossy paper in the flame of a candle to cover it completely with soot. Then wipe it off again. The soot will only stick to the images stamped with versamark and create a misty, cloudy atmosphere.

  4. WOW! What a fabulous technique! Super spooky. I love it! thanks for joining the Minions this week at HDH. xxD

  5. Andrea C says:

    These both look amazing. Loving that technique and thanks for playing along with macabre monday x

  6. Sandi says:

    Two great spooky fun ATCs! Thanks so much for explaining the technique…putting that on my “list”..:)

  7. Laura says:

    Fantastic. This is a technique I have never tried.Thanks for joining us at Gingers

  8. JeanFB says:

    Ooooh, I love both of these! You’ve achieved fabulous effects – I love both the positive and the negative image scenes. Thanks for sharing with Gingersnap Creations. 🙂

  9. Laura says:

    Great technique which I have never tried.Thanks for joining us at gingers.

  10. Kim Howard says:

    great atc, love the soot technique.

Leave a Reply

