Irish blessings

I love all things Celtic and St. Patrick’s Day’s approaching, so I’d love to share this journal page with you:

Again, it’s a very ‘clean’ pair of pages and there’s no writing involved, so for some of you it might not qualify as an ‘art journal’. I tend to see my visual journal as a kind of personal playground. Sometimes, I just want to dedicate pages to subjects I like, play with stamps I love, practise  techniques and explore colour combinations.  It was actually the Art of Moodling who inspired me in trying the colour combo green, silver and gold and in using heat embossing in my journal. The Irish blessings (The Stampsmith) and the Celtic knotwork and Celtic Crosses (Make Your Mark) are heat embossed.  The background is sponged with different shades of green Distress Inks (Crushed Olive, Forest Moss, Peeled Paint).

This is my entry for the following challenges:

Sorry for combining so many challenges, but  I like them all and I’m really short of crafting time these days!

11 comments on “Irish blessings

  1. No qualify as an art journal? My goodness, I think this is an exquisite artpiece and your love of all things Celtic shines through. Thanks so much for sharing these pages with your blogger friends. Stunning work.

  2. taluula says:

    So beautifully Celtic my friend. Absolutely gorgeous.

  3. Jane says:

    A very clean looking journal page thanks for playing at StampinSanity this week
    Luv Jane xxx

  4. Deann says:

    Love all your great Celtic designs Aisling…a beautiful journal entry…great job!!

  5. This is stunning! Thanks very much for playing along with us at StampInsanity this week, hope to see you again soon 😀

  6. Theresa says:

    Love Celtic designs. I would love to have stamps like that! Love the colors too! Happy St. Patrick’s Day!
    ~Theresa

  7. It looks great! Who says an art journal has to have writing? I think writing would distract from the overall look of the design. Very nicely done.

  8. Pretty and fun- thanks for playing with us at Inspiration Avenue!

  9. prit.lisa says:

    I do mostly visual art and practicing in my art journal too…this ius beautiful!
    xo

  10. BriGt says:

    wowwww absollutely looove this Celtic designs !! 🙂

  11. This is a wonderful take on the IA theme. I love the stamp images, colours used & the background effects. Embossing is such fun -like magic. I actually have a couple of these stamps & haven’t done any stamping in ages so you’ve inspired me to do stamping in my art journal too. Thanks!
    Kat 🙂

Leave a Reply

