Steampunk ATCs

Think Monday Think ATC chose “Steampunk” as a theme for this week’s challenge and weekend ATC wants to see ATCs that are not cute. Here are my entries:

To create the frame of the top ATC I used a leftover of brown and blue striped wrapping paper. The man was coloured with aqua pencils using Distress inks.

For the frame of the bottom ATC I used the “stamping on soot” technique (which I explain here).  For the man I used the reverse stamping on soot technique, i.e. I stamped him with versamark on glossy cardstock, held the card in the flame of a candle to create a layer of soot which I then removed with a soft cloth. The soot will only stick on the stamped versamark image.

All stamps are Oxford Impressions.

These two Steampunk fellows will be flying to the Stamp Man Swap soon, for I was chosen as the winner of their October challenge “Travel” and I was asked to provide the theme for February, which will be … Steampunk. I really hope there will be a lot of participants, as I’m aware it’s not an easy theme if one doesn’t have the right stuff in ones stash.  So, if you’re participating in the Stamp Man’s ATC swap of February, there’s a chance that one of these ATCs ends up in your home.

8 comments on “Steampunk ATCs

  1. Nancy B says:

    These are both fantastic! Thanks for explaning the soot technique.

  2. rein says:

    These are great!

  3. Christine says:

    Twee prachtige ATC’s
    Dankjewel dat je hebt meegestempeld met Weekend ATC

  4. Suzanne says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! Both of them …
    It’s a very good idea to combine this soot technique with steampunk motifs (or vice versa *g*), I think I’ll give it a try too, thanks for explaining.

  5. Torreke says:

    Ze zijn prachtig Julie! Ik hoop dat ik de tijd vind (tussen mijn stempels heb ik toch al iets gevonden) en dan probeer ik ook mee te doen!

  6. Rosie says:

    So wonderful Steampunk-work. I love both so much.

    Thank you for visiting my blog earlier today.

  7. Jane says:

    wow very nice ATC´s.

    Thanks for joy with WAC

    hugs Jane

Leave a Reply

