Journal page: winds of change

The past few weeks, it’s been raining non-stop over here, so I felt like chosing “rain” as a theme for my journal page.

I’d like to enter this page to Simon Says Stamp and Show Some Masking.  This page involves several types of masking:

  • I used torn paper as a mask for sponging the blue rectangle in the middle of my page
  • I masked off the blue rectangle before stamping the water drops
  • I created a mask for the umbrella before stamping the buildings as a background.

I came across quite a couple of journaling blogs, where we’ve been asked to choose 1 word to describe our goals in 2011. Well, mine would be ‘change’… Although, I was perfectly happy in 2010, there are a few things I would like to achieve this year (see also my 1st journal page). I think this journal page also perfectly fits the prompt that was offered by Rachel of ‘A year in the life of an art journal‘.

Again, I’ve been inspired by one sentence that’s a part of a song called “Solitary” by a band called VNV Nation. You can listen if you want:

Stamps used

  • Umbrella man (left): Tim Holtz
  • Buildings: Oxford Impressions
  • Waterdrops: A Capella
  • Umbrella man (right): Katzelkraft
  • Various brands of letter stamps
7 comments on “Journal page: winds of change

  1. Dan says:

    Great journal page, and I love the masking techniques you’ve used on the page itself! A good friend of mine is a huge VNV Nation fan, so I’ll give that song a listen 🙂 The Design Team are really pleased that you joined us for the Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge this week – Thank you!

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your page on A Year in the Life of an Art Journal!! I love what you created. 🙂

  3. Marit says:

    It’s a great art journal page Aisling! I love all the masking and stamping you did, and I am in ooh and aah over your ‘drops-stamp’ (thanks for naming the brands, I’ll go look for it!) The colours of your page are awesome, the blue and browns give the page the perfect feeling with that quote! Thanks for exploring the art journal ‘world’ with us over at A Year in the Life of an Art Journal!

  4. Nikki says:

    Fabulous! Love that stamp!

  5. Suzie says:

    I love this page! The blue is gorgeous and the stamping is amazing!! We’ve had rain for days too, and snow before that … I forget what blue sky and sun looks like!

  6. I love the colors and the timmeee stamps!!

  7. lara says:

    wow – this is an AMAZING journal page! Its intense! I want to try the torn paper mask thing. What did you use for the blue? water color or acrylic or something else?
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

