What’s On Your Workdesk? Wednesday

Hello there! Time for your weekly snoop at my workdesk  (If you don’t know what this is about, hop over to Julia’s blog)! Well, I’m cheating a little bit, I’m afraid. I cannot show you my actual workdesk today, for I’m creating ATCs for a Turquoise & Brown swap and I wouldn’t want the ladies to see them beforehand. I’m still managing to keep my desk fairly tidy, so it’s not very interesting anyway.  BUT: instead I’d like to share with you a fun recycling tip. We all enjoy creating and sending cards and ATCs, don’t we? And we often receive envelopes in return. What do we do with them? Some us might cut out the postage stamps and keep them to include in future projects, but then most of us throw away the envelope, right?

Being inspired by this tutorial, I took a closer look to the envelopes I received, grabbed my punches and started creating tags and embellishments. Here are some examples:

As you can see, we don’t always need to buy expensive patterned papers for our projects: a simple envelope can be turned into great tags or embellishments! I’m sure those will come in handy one day.

This entry was posted in WOYWW.

14 comments on “What’s On Your Workdesk? Wednesday

  1. ohhh I never thought of that!! but you could also bind them together and make a mini album, leaving the openings as pockets…

  2. maria says:

    Great work desk,thanks for the snoop!x
    Maria inkymits
    #84 (i think)

  3. Kate says:

    great reminder that there is designer stuff all around us

  4. mandi says:

    Great tipI kinda did that once, I needed a dark purple and had to punch the front of a phone directory lol
    Needs must!!

    mandi x

  5. Alison Haselgrove says:

    great thrifty tip ! must remember when the Christmas cards start to land on the hall mat ! Ali H (55)

  6. Now that is a terrific tip! Especially for tags! Sheena #79

  7. jude says:

    What fab idea im so into recycling .As hubby keeps telling me what am i going to do with all those wee boxes and things well you just never know what comes in handy thanks for tip.Especially with crimbo soon sometimes envelopes can be very decorative!Happy WOYWW
    hugs jude#20

  8. butlersabroad says:

    Ooh, great tip! We recycle everything in my house, this is just another way of achieving that! And they look great too, another bonus.

    Hugs
    Brenda 90

  9. Dragon says:

    Good stuff what a good idea
    Frankie
    xx

  10. JoZarty says:

    Great ideas there and thanks for sharing!
    JoZarty x

  11. You’re so totally right! WE can craft without spending too much

  12. *Chrissie* says:

    Good thinking!
    Not many of the envelopes I seem to receive have patterned inners however!
    I’ll watch out for some!
    Chrissie #11

  13. Kym Upshaw says:

    I too use many different things for my cardmaking ie interesting areas on cereal/produce packets. Thanks for sharing your workspace. Best wishes, Kym xxx (WOYWW No 36)

  14. It’s bad enough that I am running nearly a week late, then I have been plagued with that pesky 503 error all night. Just wanted to drop in and let you know I was here this week. I love recycled art and security envies are the BEST.

Leave a Reply

