What’s On Your Workdesk? Wednesday

This is what my workdesk looked like yesterday evening. Pretty messy, as you can see!

I have been experimenting with the “stamping on soot” technique and I really love the result! It involves holding glossy paper above the flame of a candle (glossy side down) and moving it around to prevent the paper from burning. When you have created a layer of soot, you stamp in it with uninked stamps and you seal the card with hairspray.
Here’s is an ATC made with this technique. I’d like to enter it to the Macabre Monday’s “Horrific Haunts” challenge.

In the back you can see ATC backgrounds I created with Twinkling H2Os. If you’d like to see some previously finished pieces with these, have a look at my mini bloghop. You were able to win one of the ATCs on display, but that contest is now officially closed.

Btw, on my soot ATC I used Cherry Pie rubber stamps. And I forgot to tell you to hop over to Julia’s blog to have a look at other workdesks!

24 comments on “What’s On Your Workdesk? Wednesday

  1. Liz says:

    loving your busy work space today and thanks for sharing your soot work – must have a go at that – lv Liz (24)

  2. Katie says:

    Cool effect! Twinkling H2Os are awesome 🙂 (#91)

  3. Carola Bartz says:

    I love the soot technique – perfect for Halloween! Funny enough, on my desk this week is a soot card as well… Happy WOYWW – Carola, 92

  4. I love this card. Every time I see someone do the soot cards I think I am going to try it and then I forget to do it. #98

  5. sue says:

    Hi Ya
    oh wow that looks fantastic, never seen this done b4, think i may have to have a go at this, thanks have great day, happy WOYWW, sue, x (3)

  6. helen says:

    I’ve never tried this technique, but nor have I seen such stunning results from it – fantastic!! (19)

  7. Sarah Youde says:

    I have never seen that technique before, your results are stunning!

    Sarah (57)

  8. JoZarty says:

    Great technique and thanks for reminding me of it. Spooky card!!
    It suits well that your desk is candle lit!!
    JoZarty x

  9. Julia Dunnit says:

    Good grief what will you think of next! Great finish and doesn’t it show up the detail well! Perfect for the theme of the ATC!

  10. swampangel says:

    I’ve never heard of such but the result is awesome.

  11. Wanda says:

    That is so cool and haunting!

  12. Croms says:

    Strange we should both use the same technique … at the same time without consultation. It’s great though isn’t it. This ATC is spectacular.

  13. Phree says:

    Lovely busy desk, lots of stuff to snoop. The stamping in soot ATC is fab.

  14. Sue Allan says:

    I love that work of art there.
    Have a great weekend
    Sue xx 8

  15. Spyder says:

    hooo very tidy desk and ohooo even more, very scarrry house, love it Have a happy woyww
    ((Lyn)) #40

  16. butlersabroad says:

    Great technique, I’ve heard of it but never tried it. Wonderful stamps, it cam out very, very spooky looking!

    Hugs
    Brenda (88)

  17. Sorry I’m so late getting here this week. I tried that technique once, but my results weren’t as stunning as yours. I only had a small piece of glossy CS, but I have lots of photo paper. I wonder if it would work with photo paper. May have to get my smoky candle out and try this.

  18. Forgot to mention, I’m number 2 on the blog link.

  19. she says:

    Oh I really must have a go at the ‘soot’ technique. LOVE your ATC. S #13

  20. Ohhh Snap says:

    Love the soot technique, I’ll have to try it sometime! I’m a real magpie when it comes to anything shiny. Love H20s :D. TFS (75)

  21. OOOh, what a cool technique! this is sooo spooky! thanks for joining us for MM at HDH! P.S. I’m so excited to have won one of your ATC’s xxD

  22. Candace says:

    super busy crafty desk

    thanks for sharing, little late this week but getting round everyone…..slowly

    hugs Candace #43

  23. Wow…love the soot work, I have never heard of this technique before but I must give it a go now.

    Thanks for sharing, your ATC’s are gorgeous.

    A.xx (38)

Leave a Reply

