Art Journey workshops rock!

I had a great time in Drenthe!  We also had a minor car accident, but don’t let us mention that. I just loved the workshops and I had a wonderful time with my boyfriend in the little house we rented in a Landal Park in Aalden.  In the evenings we enjoyed sitting in front of the open fireplace, while everything outside was covered in snow. On Sunday we went for a long walk in the snow and I photographed the typical farm houses with plenty of stalactites hanging from their roofs. Really, they would be a perfect subject for a series of rubberstamps.

The workshop on Friday 8 January was hosted by Louise Kolker and involved making butterflies using 3 techniques:

  • a resist technique with oil pastels + adirondack color wash (spray) & Smooch Spritz
  • wiping out oil pastels with baby oil and adding a few splatters of metallic water paint
  • a resist-technique with Teykol

The workshop on Saturday 9 January was hosted by Jeanette Blok and involved 3 techniques with Distress ink:

  • wax paper + sponging distress ink
  • messing with distress ink on a craft sheet
  • using a water pen to colour images with distress ink.

Here are a few of the results, but I do have leftovers that I’ll be using in future projects.

3 comments on “Art Journey workshops rock!

  1. Lynn Stevens says:

    It sounds like a perfect weekend, well except for the car accident, hope it wasn’t to bad! Beautiful creations you’ve made!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and for your kind words!
    Lynn

  2. Anja says:

    What lovely pieces, fantastic techniques.
    You ask me on my blog. Right is a google translater, but its not good english. *g*

    I mean AAI areas. I make on glossy an AAI background, after drying I draw with gold and black felt pens lines around the yellow or purple/turquoise areas. Can you understand my old scool english?
    Hugs Anja

  3. Anja says:

    >I’m still not sure what AAI stands for, but could it be alcohol ink?<

    Yes that's right, here in germany we use these abbrevitations for Adirondak Alkohol Inks. 🙂
    Hugs Anja

Leave a Reply

